Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply

Interested in a utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools?

Yes
3
33%
No
6
67%
 
Total votes: 9

t0nes
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by t0nes » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:43 am

Update:

Recently, the utility for connecting the CMC Controllers to Protools has been released:
StudioConnector!
Download the demo and try it out for yourself.
http://www.atom-music.nl/studioconnector/

------------------------------------------------------------------

A request for everyone that uses or is interested in the Steinberg CMC controllers and wants to use them with Pro Tools:

I bought the CMC six-pack for Cubase, but need to work on Pro Tools as well.
I'm nearly finished with the programming on a translator that sits between Pro Tools and the CMC controllers and let them communicate with each other.
This is just working fine for me in my own studio but I'm thinking that this could be interesting for others as well!

Overview of functions:
CH: Fader controls selected track (within HUI bank), auto bank feature, pan/send mode, plug-in bypass/compare, automation mode witching, fader flip, mute/solo/arm etc, led feedback.
FD: Faders with fine control, fader flip, nudge/bank channels, meter mode, led feedback
QC: Panner/send mode, plug-in mode, plugin bypass/compare, automation mode switching. Led feedback
TP: Stop/play/REW/FF/REC/Cycle on/off, nudge, scrub/shuttle, step through grid/regions, scroll, zoom, (un)link timeline and edit selection
AI: AI mode: scroll wheel mode for adjusting knobs, Lock mode: horizontal zoom, JOG mode: step through grid/regions

If you are interested in this utility let me know by voting and/or pm me!

Thanks, Tom
Last edited by t0nes on Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4664
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by Strophoid » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:37 pm

Nice work!
I don't own a CMC controller but I'm sure there's plenty of other people who could use this!
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
istokblues
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by istokblues » Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:33 pm

t0nes wrote:A request for everyone that uses or is interested in the Steinberg CMC controllers and wants to use them with Pro Tools:

I bought the CMC six-pack for Cubase, but need to work on Pro Tools as well.
I'm nearly finished with the programming on a translator that sits between Pro Tools and the CMC controllers and let them communicate with each other.
This is just working fine for me in my own studio but I'm thinking that this could be interesting for others as well!

Overview of functions:
CH: Fader controls selected track (within HUI bank), auto bank feature, pan/send mode, plug-in bypass/compare, automation mode witching, fader flip, mute/solo/arm etc, led feedback.
FD: Faders with fine control, fader flip, nudge/bank channels, meter mode, led feedback
QC: Panner/send mode, plug-in mode, plugin bypass/compare, automation mode switching. Led feedback
TP: Stop/play/REW/FF/REC/Cycle on/off, nudge, scrub/shuttle, step through grid/regions, scroll, zoom, (un)link timeline and edit selection
AI: AI mode: scroll wheel mode for adjusting knobs, Lock mode: horizontal zoom, JOG mode: step through grid/regions

If you are interested in this utility let me know by voting and/or pm me!

Thanks, Tom


I dont have a Pro Tools and dont need this feature but you have a great +++++ :D - very good job !!!!
VERY NICE WORK !!!!
istok

Jasmes
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by Jasmes » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:28 am

I would pay money for a solution to use my CMC-CH and CMC-QC elegantly with Pro Tools.

t0nes
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by t0nes » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:22 pm

Thanks guys!
I'll keep you updated.

Jasmes
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by Jasmes » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:53 pm

t0nes wrote:Thanks guys!
I'll keep you updated.
Please do. 8-)

t0nes
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Studio Connector

Post by t0nes » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:31 pm

Hi guys,

The utility has a name: Studio Connector!

Today I've published a (basic) info site where a functions overview and the manual can be downloaded.
People who are interested in a demo (trial version) can send an email as described on the site.

http://www.atom-music.nl/studioconnector
In the following weeks I want to gather some feedback from people that have tried the demo version and then make a final full version for sale.

Cheers,

Tom
Last edited by t0nes on Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nunoabelha
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by nunoabelha » Thu Mar 19, 2015 5:58 pm

Hi, i would like yo know if you already have the software ready?
Thanks

t0nes
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by t0nes » Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:51 am

Hi there,

When you click on the link above, you will find the information to get the demo version. Here you can also request a version to buy.

(Nuno, I know that you already did this!).

I don't have time to update the site but StudioConnector works and can be tried/purchased!

Thanks, Tom

Blackout
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by Blackout » Tue May 12, 2015 7:18 am

Hi Tom this is something Steinberg should have done themselves, for all DAWs, to boost sales and carry the CMC range forward instead of just giving up and dis-continuing them :(

congrats on a great piece of software man! well done
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

t0nes
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Utility for connecting CMC controllers to Pro Tools

Post by t0nes » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:22 pm

Hi there,

Recently I finished the site and StudioConnector has been released!
http://www.atom-music.nl/studioconnector/

Tom

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest