[FR] Leave offline plugins open

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

[FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Domilik » Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:28 pm

it's still on my list.
This one is which makes Pro Tools so much faster in location sound editing.
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:54 pm

+1.

An oldie.

IN ADDITION: Please leave control of transport available when the plugin window is open. This way we can play back content to get iZotope denoise for example to read the noise profile, and then process offline.

I'd think it should be easy to disable the command to close the plugin. I think the way this is handled is also screwing up how iZotope RX functions (fails) with Nuendo when using the "connect" feature. Too bad. Makes it a killer feature in Pro Tools, completely worthless in Nuendo.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Timeline » Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:23 am

+1 Yes agreed, and having an option to control a listen fader when auditioning offline plugins would be awesome since source recordings can fluctuate a great deal in volume. Yes this is a nice feature in pro tools, however nuendo does make it easy to customize hotkeys to quickly load plugins etc. (you can only do this on Pro tools running macs using Mac's build in extra application key commands.
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by basicX » Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:06 am

+1 I would like to see that too!

Another thing, since i record a lot of voiceovers and things like that, i'm very used to use the STRIP SLICENS tool in PT while recording. It's so handy to have a almost clean timelime in the moment you are done with the recording!
In Nuendo you can't leave the "search for silence" thing open, while you record/edit and so on... that is a bit slower than the workflow in PT - maybe steinberg might look into this?

In postproduktion it is all about speed in your workflow!!

cheers
Nuendo 8.1.1, PT 11.3.1, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance, and so on...)

Windows 8.1 x64
System from Digital Audio NetworX
Intel Xeon 12core, Gigabyte, 16GB Ram, 2 * Radeon HD, BlackMagic Studio 4k, UAD Quad, AVID HD Native PCIe.
3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC » Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:53 pm

Here is yet another use for this:

Today I needed to punch into a mix I had done earlier, and then verify loudness targets. Since the loudness track doesn't measure whatever we want, and since faster-than-realtime is currently broken, the obvious alternative was the "old" loudness plugin by Steinberg.

So, selecting an event (my new mix), plugin, and then the loudness plugin, IF the plugin window had stayed open I would have been able to press "process" and it would have measured the file, leaving the plugin window open with all the resulting values. At least this is my guess.

So, another instance where leaving it open would help very much.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

hendrix97
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by hendrix97 » Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:21 pm

+1
huge timesaver for dialog editing!!
This is number one on my list of features I would really like to see.
I actually do know a number of guys using Pro Tools for dialog editing who have not switched to Nuendo because of exactly that feature. So... this also is one of the reasons why PT is still considered THE Audio Post DAW for Featurefilm. We are all fighting to change that... so please join the fight or give us at least bigger weapons!!

User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Domilik » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:42 am

came back to Nuendo for a little project last week, puuuh, this is so slow when having multiple different restauration tasks during dialog editing... Always have to find and reopen the dedicated plugin instead of having them open all together on the second screen.
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Timeline » Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:25 pm

Hotkeys for plugins is still way easier and better for me then having to manually open them up even if they stay open. Its a great idea as an additional option but should not at all be a game changer to stick to PT. Offline process history is also so convenient.
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:37 pm

Timeline wrote:Hotkeys for plugins is still way easier and better for me then having to manually open them up even if they stay open. Its a great idea as an additional option but should not at all be a game changer to stick to PT. Offline process history is also so convenient.
It actually also depends on the computer in question. Opening the plugin takes some time, and for me it's physically faster to move my cursor to a plugin window and press "process" than pressing a key to open, wait for it to load, pressing enter to process, wait for it to close.

Further more, as I explained either here or elsewhere, I am suspecting that there is other behavior specifically related to iZotope's RX software that would benefit from the ability to leave a window open.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

basicX
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by basicX » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:28 am

will we see any improvement on this topic in nuendo 7.5 ?
Nuendo 8.1.1, PT 11.3.1, AVID HD Native, AVID HD I/O, AVID I/O192 (Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance, and so on...)

Windows 8.1 x64
System from Digital Audio NetworX
Intel Xeon 12core, Gigabyte, 16GB Ram, 2 * Radeon HD, BlackMagic Studio 4k, UAD Quad, AVID HD Native PCIe.
3 * Avid Artis Mix, Monitoring: Studio Technologie Model 74

glidator
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by glidator » Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:22 am

++++++1
We have pro tools and Nuendo in our editing rooms. dialog editors prefer work with PT because they use izotope connect 80% of the time. Connect is used for noise learning, deessing, cleaning, declicking dehuming. And connect is to heavy to use in Nuendo all the day.
Plugins need to stay open and to be able to process or preview across multiple clips. and to have a fader volume to listen the preview.
The perfect feature will be a "spectral repair mode" directly included on the timeline (or in the clip editor window). no more plugins for that... :D
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Nuage 32 faders
AMS-NEVE DFC GEMINI (with Nuendo and Pro Tools)

ErikG
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by ErikG » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:30 pm

Yay, N8!
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:38 pm

I'll believe it when I see it, #VCA
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest