Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Arthur Rambo
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by Arthur Rambo » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:33 am

Hello,
This is not really Cubase 9 "completely related", but almost !
Due to the 32 bits B4 plugin beeing blacklisted, what would you use to replace the B4 ?
Thanks for your answers !
Sam
-----
http://www.samuel-maurin.com
Cubase 9
Windows 7

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by Weasel » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:09 am

You may not have to replace it. Look into jBridge for Windows. I'm on a Mac and I used 32Lives to wrap B4 to run on Cubase 9 and it works flawlessly. I have read many reports that jBridge works equally well on Windows machines. At the very least, it's less expensive than buying a new dedicated Hammond/Leslie emulator.
DualQuadCore 2.66 Nehalem/32gbRAM-OSX 10.12.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU 424e/2408MkIII • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1/GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Arthur Rambo
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by Arthur Rambo » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:03 am

Thanks a lot !
I will try that.
I understand 32 bits plugins are left aside for stability reasons, but maybe it would be nice to be able to have a feature to activate and de-activate some older plugins. In pre-production, stability is less an issue than during recording sessions for example.
Anyway, thanks again.
Sam
-----
http://www.samuel-maurin.com
Cubase 9
Windows 7

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by ZeroZero » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:44 am

I have B4 working here under Jbridge - great product
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 5820K Corei7, Asus x99a, 32 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by ffg » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:50 am

It's a great pity that NI didn't see fit to continue B4's development. A lot of people love it.
best

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Cubase 9.5 (latest)
Nuendo 5.5 & 7
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
MacPro 2.8 8-core OSX 8.5
Macbook Pro OSX 10.11
RME Fireface 800

ca-booter
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by ca-booter » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:38 pm

I also have the old B-4 running under JBridge, works great.
I have to say I also have the follow up "NI Vintage Organs" for Kontakt.
I personaly like the sound of the B3 and C3 (it also has an M-Hammond) from this package much more than the B4 sound itself.
They are fatter, more natural sounding to me and the reverb swings from left to right just like it is with an original Leslie.
In the B4 it does not if I am right(did not use for a long time now)

I think that is the reason why NI dropped the B4
PC i7-2400 |16Gb | W7-Home Prem.64bits SSD | Cubase 9 +8.5 Pro | Wavelab El.9 | Absolute 3 |Yamaha N12 mixer-interface.

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2604
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by Prock » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:04 pm

Check out VB3 from GSi. Sounds very authentic to my ears. There is a trail 64 bit version for windows only. Only $50 for the full license.

http://www.genuinesoundware.com/?a=showproduct&b=24

Have fun. ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by islandmusicpro » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:33 pm

Prock wrote:Check out VB3 from GSi. Sounds very authentic to my ears. There is a trail 64 bit version for windows only. Only $50 for the full license.

http://www.genuinesoundware.com/?a=showproduct&b=24

Have fun. ;)

Regards 8-)
I'll second this. Pretty awesome demos on the site also! :o
B.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1709 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico 1.2.10
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by keyxmusic » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:40 pm

I replaced B4 with Vintage Organs also from NI, no big deal. The real pain for me is Pro 53...

User avatar
SuStudio
Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by SuStudio » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:04 pm

I'm definitely a critic of Steinberg for doing away with 32-bit support or the inclusion of JBridge as before. The B4 is a great VST so I keep my CB Pro 8.5 running as well as using NI Vintage Organs or Arturia's B3V which is fantastic. I prefer B4 though as the load and response times are great as are the sounds. 32Lives is $99 which is pretty steep so check out JBridge for Mac which is only $10 and works just as well.
Cubase 9.0.3 - Wavelab 7.2.1 - Cubasis 2.2 & ICPro
Mac Pro Quad 3.7 Ghz 32GB, OSX 10.12.6
Macbook Pro 2.77 Ghz 8GB, OXS 10.12.6
UA Apollo Twin Duo, G-Tech Raid, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, innumerable VSTi & plug-ins.

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by folkfreak » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:46 pm

Prock wrote:Check out VB3 from GSi. Sounds very authentic to my ears. There is a trail 64 bit version for windows only. Only $50 for the full license.

http://www.genuinesoundware.com/?a=showproduct&b=24

Have fun. ;)

Regards 8-)
Not only it is 64 bit on windows, it also is miles better than N.I.s B4

dreibel53
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:30 am
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by dreibel53 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:27 am

I've liked NI B4II, and in previous versions of macOS I'd always been able to use it. Unfortunately, it wasn't the 32-bit thing that made me finally give it up - Sierra broke its copy protection, so it will always load in demo mode.

I wound up grabbing AIR's DB-33 for now, as it does a really nice B3 simulation. But I'm also saving up for the Vintage Organs pack for Kontakt (or wait until NI has it on sale).

[EDIT] I just installed NI B4II again, after first wiping the original install using the Amnesia program, and I've got it working again after wrapping with 32 Lives.
Last edited by dreibel53 on Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

jessenemitz
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:20 am
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by jessenemitz » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:05 am

I regularly use NIB4II, Gsi VB3, NI Vintage Organs (Kontakt), SounDUST Hammr+ (Kontakt), and now most recently I've added Retro Organs for UVI, and B5 for UVI workstation. Depending on the TYPE of B3 sound needed for a song, rarely does ONE or more of those options come short. They all specialize in very different areas if you learn the software for each.

I don't use the original NI B4 just their second version.
I don't use Arturia.
I don't use VB-33

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1571
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by suntower » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:39 am

Indeed. It is -miles- better than NI B4 or Vintage Organs

PLUS: Guido's support is great.

folkfreak wrote:
Prock wrote:Check out VB3 from GSi. Sounds very authentic to my ears. There is a trail 64 bit version for windows only. Only $50 for the full license.

http://www.genuinesoundware.com/?a=showproduct&b=24

Have fun. ;)

Regards 8-)
Not only it is 64 bit on windows, it also is miles better than N.I.s B4
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1626
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by djw » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:34 am

Too bad GSi doesn't give their MrRay73 Mark II the 64-bit treatment.
🥕
Specs: Latest versions of Cubase Pro, Dorico, WaveLab Pro, Windows 10, AMD Phenom II 1100T, 8GB RAM, AMD R9 390, YS CI1

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by islandmusicpro » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:17 am

djw wrote:Too bad GSi doesn't give their MrRay73 Mark II the 64-bit treatment.
Word.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Windows 10 1709 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2.4.4, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5.6.6, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico 1.2.10
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments B4 replacement ?

Post by PeppaPig » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:32 am

Pluginboutique are flogging Air's DB33 for £12.50p - That's 64 bit.

http://www.pluginboutique.com/product/1 ... 1684-DB-33
Cubase Pro 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 840 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GiovanniB, Grim and 10 guests