Your Outboard FX workflow

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
keyman_sam
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:52 am
Contact:

Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by keyman_sam » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:56 pm

Those with outboard gear such as compressors, reverbs, etc. please share your Cubase workflow here.

I have some channels in which hardware inserts are in the middle. How would I future proof these channels or render them for mixing? Do you render the stereo mix solo'ed (with sends, etc.) into a new track, or do you just render right after the insert and retain the other inserts/sends/settings?

How do you do this quickly if you have outboard gear? What is the most efficient workflow?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Drag and drop from Cubase to anywhere else & vice-versa: http://vstxmltranslator.blogspot.com/

Primary: ASUS P8Z68-V LX INTEL Z68 CROSSFIRE, i7-2600K 3.40 GHz, 20 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB (Samples), 1 TB (Audio), nVidia GTX 750 Ti, GT520, Win 7 x64, NI Komplete 9, iZotope MPB, Cubase stock plugins
VEP Slave: i7 920, 16 GB RAM, no sound card, Win 7 x64. Runs Omnisphere, EW CC, Kontakt

DAW: Cubase 7.5.4

RME HDSP 9652 (main) <-> RME Babyface (ADAT frontend)

User avatar
Reflection
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by Reflection » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:50 pm

I use all my hardware at tracking stage. I rearly use them as hardware inserts. I prefer to do the mix down on my mix consol if I want to use my hardware. But doing the pre mix at tracking usualy makes no need for more hardware in the mix prossess. I find it better to just stick to one format at a time and dont start mixing them up.

Anyways if I do use a hardware insert. I will set it up as external fx and use it like any other plugin.
os: win 10 64bit. Cubase pro 9.5.2
Hw: maximus viii hero 1151, I7 K6700, 16gb ram, nvida GTX 1070.
Sound: Apollo twin usb, A&H Gsr-24M. Otari mtr-90mk2, Mx-55.
Dsp: uad-2. Powercore.
Daw control: Nektar Panorama p4, A&H Gsr-24M

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by peakae » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:27 am

Just set them up as external fx, and use them as any other insert or send plugin.
It helps that I have 32 in/out, I use 8 of these to permanently have external hardware hooked up to the same I/O's
So really nothing different than mixing with plugins except they need to be rendered in real time.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Manike
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by Manike » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:55 am

The problem with using them as external fx within cubase is that you could be converting the same piece of audio back and forth between analogue and digital several times if you have a number of pieces of outboard.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : El-Capitan : Cubase9.5 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by peakae » Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:58 pm

You would have to do da/ad conversions more than several times to have any audible degradation. The noise from the analog gear would probably be a problem long before that.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:08 pm

I've pared down to the point where the only stuff in the racks these days are mic pres and the obligatory pair of Distressors. There was a time when I had them set up as external effects, which worked fine, but of course that means we're back to the old days of taking Polaroids of the settings to stash somewhere with mix notes.

Ultimately, I mostly use them for tracking anyway, particularly on vocals. And the way I solved the mix recall problem was to buy their new Arouser plugin. :)
Studio A: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Studio B: Cubase 9.0.10 Build 150 64 bit | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 44 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

Manike
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by Manike » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:16 pm

peakae wrote:You would have to do da/ad conversions more than several times to have any audible degradation. The noise from the analog gear would probably be a problem long before that.

Yea I think you're probably right.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : El-Capitan : Cubase9.5 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
http://www.manikemusic.com

steveschizoid
Member
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:57 am
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by steveschizoid » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:58 am

keyman_sam wrote:Those with outboard gear such as compressors, reverbs, etc. please share your Cubase workflow here.

I have some channels in which hardware inserts are in the middle. How would I future proof these channels or render them for mixing? Do you render the stereo mix solo'ed (with sends, etc.) into a new track, or do you just render right after the insert and retain the other inserts/sends/settings?

How do you do this quickly if you have outboard gear? What is the most efficient workflow?
The only reason to render them would be to free up the external inset for something else.

I use so many that rendering all of them would be seriously time consuming.However,I still render a good number of tracks.

I've noticed strange results when rendering from the channel,so usually just set it to the stereo out, solo it and render it.

You can also render several tracks at the same time if you decide to render through the channels.
Cubase Pro 9, Lynx aes16e, Lynx E44, Lynx driver 2.0 build 23b, PC, Intel core i7 6850K, Asus X99 Deluxe II, 16 gb DDR4 ram, Nvidia Gforce GT 710 graphics card, UAD 2 Quad, UAD 2 solo, Windows 10

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Your Outboard FX workflow

Post by toader » Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:05 pm

If I have a chain of plugin effects with a hardware effect in the middle, I would render the entire effect chain, and import the audio to a different audio track - and then just turn off all of the software effects (use the power off button, not bypass, and they will not take up any CPU power) and mute the original channel. This way, I play back from the newly rendered track, but I still have all of the effects and settings on the original channel - they're all just disabled temporarily - but I can easily re-enable them, and redo the render at any time.

I've had some other troubles with external effects though:

1) The "ping" function (delay compensation) doesn't work correctly for me. It ALWAYS reports 0ms delay. This can be quite a problem - especially when trying to process drums with external hardware: viewtopic.php?f=253&t=113761

2) For some reason, the "Audio Process History" does not work with external effects. This would make processing external hardware SO much easier, but it currently does not work in Cubase: viewtopic.php?f=252&t=113018
Computer 1: Cubase 9.5.20, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.25, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

https://www.noiseradiationstudios.com

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests